World | Self | Weather | Current Events

Hurricane Ian Is About Slam Into My City

Please don’t take my roof.

Sean Kernan
5 min readSep 27, 2022

--

Hurricane Weather Service (Public Domain)

I live in Tampa, Florida. We have an imminent and lovely date with Ian.

Ian doesn’t like that I bought a brand new house. Like a psychotic jealous ex, he wants to take all the good things in my life and rip them apart.

My home is just outside of the evacuation zone. All the highways today were full of cars that are traveling to other parts of the state, you could see various luggage on their roofs. Flights had doubled in price.

My home is in that circle.

My old house was in the red and is at risk of flooding — I’m genuinely concerned about a few neighbors who might still be here.

Floridians aren’t always good at heeding evacuation orders.

Supplies are running thin

Today, the grocery store felt a bit like peak pandemic mode.

People swarmed all the bottled water section while others cleaned out all the TP and paper towels. There’s this weird thing in the US where people want to die with a surplus of toilet…

--

--

Sean Kernan

I'm a nommer. Submit your articles to my publication Corporate Underbelly and I'll try to help you get boosted.