Self

Why the Hedgehog Problem Pricks Your Need for Human Connection

Navigate your fear of negative evaluation to live better and be happier.

Sean Kernan
5 min readNov 9, 2023

--

Pexels via Gary Barnes

Light beamed into the small bedroom through the tan and orange Parisian windows. Julie was fast asleep next to me, looking beautiful and without a care in the world. As I came to my senses, I knew something was off. The room was too bright.

I glanced at the clock and realized we’d slept past our alarm. Our flight was leaving in 90 minutes and the airport wasn’t across the street. I shook Julie awake and we scrambled to gather our belongings. Ten minutes later, we stood on the street, frantically waving down cabs. One pulled up, driven by a brown haired middle-aged man who spoke English. We got in and I said, “We are very late. Can you get us to Charles de Gaulle Airport, quickly?” I was surprised as he suddenly floored it like 007, with zero regard for traffic laws or anyone’s safety. Julie and I started bickering in the back. She turned and barked at me, “I told you to make that alarm louder!”

In the infinite wisdom of a 22-year-old, I said, “Oh would you just calm down?” Her eyes flared and she hissed back, “No you calm down! This is your fault!” Then I noticed the stone-faced cab driver making eye contact with me in his rearview…

--

--

Sean Kernan

I'm a nommer. Submit your articles to my publication Corporate Underbelly and I'll try to help you get boosted.