Sean Kernan
1 min readFeb 16, 2021

--

I asked a writing teacher this question years ago and resented the dismissive answer he gave me: “There’s no such thing as writer’s block.”

Writer’s block is definitely a thing and the fact that it’s talked about so much only validates that fact. Years later, I still face it.

I generally stick to three strategies:

  1. I try to have a quantity-related intention when I sit down. I’m going to write ____ today. There’s no framing of ‘quality’ around it because that creates intimidation. Writer’s block is mostly a fear of inadequacy.
  2. If I know what I'm going to write about but don't know what to write, there is likely an information problem. I need to do more research and understand it. I might put a few thoughts down then go for a walk and listen to a podcast about it. Or read up on the subject.
  3. Freewriting can definitely help but it’s not a silver bullet. Freewriting can produce a lot of gobbly-gook so you need to get good at frankensteining ideas to get the most out of it.

--

--

Sean Kernan

I'm a nommer. Submit your articles to my publication Corporate Underbelly and I'll try to help you get boosted.